So I am well down the ‘mews of change’, embarking on a new career.
Although I didn’t want to leave my last career, it was definitely the right
thing to do.  Change is a strange path to walk but, refreshing and
exhilarating in equal measure.

I loved being a youth worker, it gave me a sense of belonging and (I felt)
kudos amongst other professionals as I was the person that could talk to
and advocate for young people.  I was defending the future.  Yep that’s how
I saw it I was the Don Quixote of the youth work world and I was on my
quest.

The truth however is much different.  After I was made redundant I was very
angry for it happening and worried for the young people I had supported.
After being out of the profession for a week or so a huge amount of
pressure was lifted from my shoulders and I felt great, light as a feather.
Looking back now I know that was because the job I once loved, wasn’t there anymore.  It had been kicked and beaten into a shape that I didn’t
recognise, just covered over with a youth work shaped plaster.  I hadn’t
realised, being in the midst of it, what was going on.  I hadn’t been a
real youth worker for years,  as I just accepted little change after little
change.  I know right – two legs good, four legs bad n’all that.

There is still a little guilt there, like I have abandoned the career I
loved, like I’m selling out.  But I had five months with no work and to be
honest there were no jobs there, I was unwanted just like the profession.
It’s being systematically destroyed around the country and my family and I
didn’t have time to wait for it to come back into fashion.

I guess this post is my youth work swan song.  Me, finally accepting I’m no
longer officially a youth worker (despite being about to qualify at uni).
I will always hold the principles with me and apply them wherever I go.
This blog didn’t turn out the way I thought it would but it has been
cathartic, and I think it has given me closure.

IMAG2093_1.jpg

So I carry on with my journey.  Proud of what I’ve achieved and excited
about I could in the future.

No matter how hard change may seem, you owe it to yourself and your loved
ones to be happy and have self worth.

Love you……….. Bye

